Current track


Local Election Results: Labour regain control of council

Written by on 6th May 2011

Labour has regained control of the City of Lincoln Council for the first time in four years after gaining an extra seat to gain a majority of 17. The Conservatives lost one seat and now hold 15 in the council whilst the Liberal Democrats were able to hold onto their one seat.

The only change in council’s political make up came in the Glebe ward, with Labour’s Councillor Patrick Vaughan securing 101 more votes than the Conservatives to gain the crucial seat from them and regain the ruling majority of the council.

The closest battles of the night came from the Birchwood and Minister wards. Conservatives were able to hold onto control of both seats with the slimest majorities of the vote, beating Labour by just 21 votes in the Birchwood ward and 39 votes in the Minsiter ward.

After last year’s election the council was left with ‘no overall control’, with Conservatives and Labour holding 16 seats each and the Liberal Democrats holding the remaining one seat.

Over 50 candidates ran for the 11 positions up for election this year in the City of Lincoln Council. The turnout was the highest for a local election in several years, with 36.43% of those eligible voting in Lincoln.

The count began in Lincoln at 1am, with around 60 people working through the early hours of the morning to count the votes.

The results were declared around 2.30am, slightly later than most people at the count had expected. The AV result will be announced later on Friday afternoon.

Here is a full list of all 11 positions decided in the 2011 local election (in the order they were declared).

Minster ward – Cllr David Gratrick (Conservative)
Bracebridge ward – Cllr Darren Grice (Conservative)
Glebe ward – Cllr Patrick Vaughan (Labour)
Park ward – Cllr Chris Burke (Labour)
Hartsholme ward – Cllr Ronald Hills (Conservative)
Abbey ward – Cllr Fay Smith (Labour)
Carholme ward – Cllr Neil Murray (Labour)
Moorland ward – Cllr Bob Bushell (Labour)
Castle ward – Cllr Donald Nannestad (Labour)
Boultham ward – Cllr Gary Hewson (Labour)
Birchwood ward – Cllr Eddie Strengiel (Conservative)

Lincoln Council 2011

Labour – 17 seats

Conservatives – 15 seats

Liberal Democrats – 1 seat

Total – 33 seats